

INTER MEDIA CHARTER FOR SAFETY & PROTECTION OF MEDIA WORKERS

WE, the Editors drawn from the various media houses in Kenya on this....day of March 2022, under auspices of the High Level Coordinating Team for the Safety and Protection of Journalists and Media Workers during the 2022 General Election

ACKNOWLEDGING

the sacred role that the media plays in the protection and promotion of our democracy.

COGNISANT

of the competitive nature of our political process especially during elections.

AWARE

of the safety risks that journalists face in the course of their duty, especially during elections.

MINDFUL

of the fact that the safety and protection of journalists and media workers is a collective responsibility that goes beyond the capacity of individual media houses and editors;

COMMITTED

to our journalistic responsibilities to inform, educate, and hold power to account; and

RESPECTFUL

of the institutions established by law to ensure that the people exercise their democratic right;

DO HEREBY declare and commit ourselves to:

- 1. Ensure journalists and media workers under our superintendence are continually sensitised and made aware of the general, individual and collective safety and protection guidelines, and will further offer support whenever incidents occur;
- 2. Brief and debrief our staff on assignment about the electioneering activities and processes with specific focus on safety and protection;
- 3. Provide protective gear and First Aid equipment, where necessary, to accredited journalists and media workers on assignment, especially during the electioneering period, and that such equipment be available even to those not in our employ as the case may be;
- 4. Provide relevant and adequate facilitation to our staff on assignment in case of emergencies or threats to personal security, and where possible, extend the same to colleagues from other media houses;
- 5. Establish Rapid Response focal points within our media houses, for staff on assignment and provide liaison mechanisms between such focal points and the Media Council of Kenya, media professional support groups, the police and other security/safety agencies;
- 6. Encourage the publishing of stories on threats and/or attacks on staff on assignment with a view to exposing the perpetrators and sensitising security agencies on the need for the safety and protection of journalists.
- 7. Mandate the Media Council of Kenya to coordinate, in consultation with media houses, the setting up of a Rapid Response Fund to ensure efficient deployment of emergency services to journalists and media workers in distress;
- 8. Work with the Media Council of Kenya to expedite accreditation and issuance of press cards and badges to all staff covering elections.









INTER MEDIA CHARTER FOR SAFETY & PROTECTION OF MEDIA WORKERS

NAME	MEDIA HOUSE
Mr Joe Ageyo - Chairman	NTV
Ms Pamela Asigi - Member	Royal Media Services
Mr Mutuma Mathiu - Member	Nation Media Group
Mr Samuel Maina – Member	Kenya Broadcasting Corporation
Mr Ken Bosire - Member	Commitee Secretary
Ms Millicent Awuor - Member	Kenya Broadcasting Corporation
Mr Paul Ilado - Member	Radio Africa Group
Mr Tom Jalio - Member	Radio Africa Group
Mr Bernard Momanyi - Member	Capital Group
Ms Ellen Wanjiru - Member	Mediamax Limited
Mr Mohamud Abdullahi - Member	TV47
Mr Macharia Gachuru - Member	TV47
Mr Zawadi Mudibo - Member	BBC Africa TV

CONTACT US

Ground Floor, Britam Centre,
Mara /Ragati Road Junction, Upper hill,
P.O.BOX 43132 00100 Nairobi, Kenya
Tel:+ 254 (020)273 7058 | +254 (020) 271 6266,
Mobile Number +254(0) 727 735 252
Email :info@mediacouncil.or.ke
www.mediacouncil.or.ke @mediacouncilk